

## SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

## GAZETTE NEW ZEALAND

OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1877.

Published by Authority.

# WELLINGTON, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 1877.

Judges of Assessment Courts for Counties under "The Rating Act, 1876," appointed.

#### NORMANBY, Governor.

IN pursuance and exercise of all powers and authorities vested in me by "The Rating Act, 1876," I, George Augustus Constantine, Marquis of Normanby, the Governor of the Colony of New Zealand, do hereby appoint the persons named in the Schedule hereto to be the Judges of the Assessment Courts for the districts comprised within the Counties placed opposite the name of each such person respectively.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Most Honorable George Augustus Constantine, Marquis of Normanby, Earl of Mulgrave, Viscount Normanby, and Baron Mulgrave of Mulgrave, all in the County of York, in the Peerage of the United Kingdom; and Baron Mulgrave of New Ross, in the County of Wexford, in the Peerage of Ireland: a Member of Her Maiesty's Most Honorable Privy Council. Knight Commander and Baron Mulgrave of New Ross. In the County of Wexford, in the Feerage of Heland; a Member of Her Majesty's Most Honorable Privy Council; Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George; Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over Her Majesty's Colony of New Zealand and its Dependencies, and Vice-Admiral of the same; at the Government House, at Wellington, this fifth day of February, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy-seven.

CHARLES C. BOWEN.

#### SCHEDULE.

Name of Person appointed.

## District.

Edward Marsh Williams, Esq., R.M., of Russell ... Spencer Von Sturmer, Esq., R.M., of Hokianga ... Harcourt Richard Aubrey, Esq., R.M., of Whangarei Harcourt Richard Aubrey, Esq., R.M., of Whangarei Matthew Angove, Esq., J.P., of Mahurangi ... Francis Morris Preston Brookfield, Esq., of Auckland Robert Clapham Barstow, Esq., R.M., of Auckland Robert Clapham Barstow, Esq., R.M., of Auckland ... Thomas Jackson, Esq., R.M., of Papakura ... ... William Fraser, Esq., R.M., of Papakura ... ... William Nicholas Searancke, Esq., R.M., of Hamilton William Gilbert Mair, Esq., R.M., of Alexandra ... Walter Harsant, Esq., R.M., of Raglan ... ... Herbert William Brabant, Esq., R.M., of Tauranga Campbell Thomson, Esq., J.P., of Opotiki ... William Kerr Nesbitt, Esq., R.M., of Gisborne ... Frederick Francis Ormond, Esq., R.M., of Wairoa ... Richmond Beetham, Esq., R.M., of Napier ... Joseph Giles, Esq., R.M., of Wanganui ... ... The district comprised within the County of Hokianga.
The district comprised within the County of Hokianga.
The district comprised within the County of Whangarei.
The district comprised within the County of Hobson.
The district comprised within the County of Rodney.
The district comprised within the County of Waitemata.
The district comprised within the County of Eden.
The district comprised within the County of Manukau.
The district comprised within the County of Manukau.
The district comprised within the County of Waikato.
The district comprised within the County of Waipa.
The district comprised within the County of Tauranga.
The district comprised within the County of Tauranga.
The district comprised within the County of Waikaton.
The district comprised within the County of Waikatane.
The district comprised within the County of Wairoa.
The district comprised within the County of Wairoa. ••• The district comprised within the County of Wanganui.

# Name of Person appointed. District. Robert Ward, Esq., R.M., of Marton Robert Ward, Esq., R.M., of Marton Bror Eric Friberg, Esq., J.P., of Waipukurau James Coutts Crawford, Esq., R.M., of Weilington Herbert Samuel Wardell, Esq., R.M., of Featherston Herbert Samuel Wardell, Esq., R.M., of Featherston Charles Allen Wray, Esq., R.M., of Patea... Harry Eyre Kenny, Esq., R.M., of New Plymouth Stephen Lunn Müller, Esq., R.M., of Blenheim Alexander Wighton Ingles, Esq., J.P., of Kaikoura Frank Guinness, Esq., R.M., of Collingwood Charles Broad, Esq., R.M., of Westport Edward Shaw, Esq., R.M., of Reefton Caleb Whitefoord, Esq., R.M., of Greymouth William Horton Revell, Esq., J.P., of Southbridge Edward James Lee, Esq., J.P., of Southbridge Thomas Windle Parker, Esq., R.M., of Waikouaiti Henry Wirgman Robinson, Esq., R.M., of Clyde William Lawrence Simpson, Esq., R.M., of Clyde William Lawrence Simpson, Esq., R.M., of Port Chalmers James Fulton, Esq., R.M., of Taieri Edgar Hall Carew, Esq., R.M., of Lawrence Henry McCulloch, Esq., R.M., of Invercargill Henry McCulloch, Esq., R.M., of Invercargill Robert Ward, Esq., R.M., of Marton The district comprised within the County of Rangitikei. The district comprised within the County of Manawatu. The district comprised within the County of Waipawa. The district comprised within the County of Waipawa. The district comprised within the County of Hutt. The district comprised within the County of Wairarapa West. The district comprised within the County of Wairarapa East. The district comprised within the County of Patea. The district comprised within the County of Marlborough. The district comprised within the County of Kaikoura. ... The district comprised within the County of Raikoura. The district comprised within the County of Collingwood. The district comprised within the County of Buller. The district comprised within the County of Inangahua. The district comprised within the County of Amuri. The district comprised within the County of Ashley. The district comprised within the County of Selwyn. ... ... ... The district comprised within the County of Akaroa. The district comprised within the County of Ashburton. The district comprised within the County of Waimate. ... ... The district comprised within the County of Wainate. The district comprised within the County of Waikouaiti. The district comprised within the County of Maniototo. The district comprised within the County of Vincent. The district comprised within the County of Lake. ... The district comprised within the County of Peninsula. The district comprised within the County of Taieri. The district comprised within the County of Bruce. The district comprised within the County of Clutha. The district comprised within the County of Clutha. The district comprised within the County of Tuapeka. The district comprised within the County of Southland. The district comprised within the County of Wallace. ...

#### Judge of Assessment Court under "The Rating Act, 1876," appointed.

#### NORMANBY, Governor.

IN pursuance and exercise of all powers and authorities vested in me by "The Rating Act, 1876," I, George Augustus Constantine, Marquis of Normanby, the Governor of the Colony of New Zealand, do hereby appoint the person named in the Schedule hereto to be a Judge of the Assessment Court for the district placed opposite his name

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Most Honorable George Augustus Constantine,
Marquis of Normanby, Earl of Mulgrave, Viscount Normanby, and Baron Mulgrave
of Mulgrave, all in the County of York, in the Peerage of the United Kingdom;
and Baron Mulgrave of New Ross, in the County of Wexford, in the Peerage of
Ireland; a Member of Her Majesty's Most Honorable Privy Council; Knight
Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George; Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over Her Majesty's Colony of New Zealand and its Dependencies, and Vice Admiral of the same; at the Government House, at Wellington, this fifth day of February, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy-seven.

CHARLES C. BOWEN.

## SCHEDULE.

Judge of Assessment Court. District. PROVINCIAL DISTRICT OF NELSON. Lowther Broad, Esq., R.M. Suburban North Highway District

Printed under the authority of the New Zealand Government by George Didsbury, Government Printer, Wellington.